“A lack of
reverence for the
Alamo’s sacred battleground has
turned much of the
iconic site into a
place no one
remembers.”

~ Gary Cartwright, 
Senior Editor,
Texas Monthly
Magazine
,
November 2008

 

 

Reclaim rollover

 

Army Renovation

1848 Alamo

    By 1847, the U.S. Army saw fit to recognize the Alamo; not for its vital role in Texas’ fight for independence but rather because of its usefulness as a convenient ammunition depot and warehouse for the military. When the military made the decision to convert the noble mission into a storage area in 1845, Edward Everett, a young army volunteer and artist was tasked with the renovation. Long before the early conservation and preservation movement of the 1900’s existed, the young artist noticed Everett drawingthe importance of the Alamo church. The construction crew went about their business remodeling the Convento and adjoining Long Barracks “without remorse, but the church we respected as an historic relic," wrote Everett, “and as such its characteristics were not marred by us.” He went on to condemn the “tasteless hands” and the “wanton destruction….by relic hunters, or other vandals and iconoclasts.”

    Both the Long Barrack and the battered two-story “Convento” – the structure that served as the Alamo hospital – underwent a huge facelift and the battle-scarred walls were dramatically altered…perhaps forever from its 1836 appearance. The Alamo Church would remain largely unchanged until 1850 when the U.S. Army repaired and modified the building and added the bell-shaped facade we see today.1868 Alamo

Click to return to the top of the page.